County AGM 2014

posted in: County Meeting | 0

On Wednesday 12th November 2014 the Annual General Meeting was held at Shuttleworth Collage. It was a very well attended evening with one hundred members present to celebrate the achievements of the year and to elect the officers for the forth coming term.

To open the proceedings Geoff Barrett spoke about his time as a young farmer and all that the organisation has to offer its members, during their time as a member and afterwards. Matt Kennedy thanked Geoff and his wife Davina for all of their hard work and enthusiasm during Geoff’s time as President and the county elected Mrs Angie Sinnott as the new president.


Geoff presenting Jo Jordan from North Beds with the Helliwell charity cup.
Matt Kennedy reported on what has been a great year for Bedfordshire Young Farmers. He thanked both the rally and ploughing match hosts and committees for organising two brilliant events for the county, said a huge well done to the county and its members for raising a fantastic amount of money for charity. He also thanked Jane Helliwell our county organiser for all of her hard work for the county.
The officers for the fourth coming year were elected and are as follows :
County Chairman Oonagh O’Neill
Vice County Chairman David White
County Treasurer Brendan Sturgeon
Council Member Oonagh O’Neill
Deputy Council Member Simon Caves
The results of the Bale Sculpture competition were announced and were as follows:
1st Silsoe
2nd Leighton Buzzard
3rd North Beds
4th Bedford
5th Woburn
5th Blunham
5th Biggleswade
As the meeting drew to a close the cups and awards for the year were presented.
effiency cup
Joanna Smyth from Biggleswade Club was presented with the Efficiency Cup
comps cup
Silsoe YFC winners of the William Jarvis Challenge Trophy for Competitions.
Leighton Buzzard winners of the Sports Cup.   
Blunham YFC Winners of The David and Sue Anderon Cup for the best Programme.
Alice Redman was presented The John Lord Rose Bowl for the most efficient secretary.
treasuers cup
Emma Banks from North Beds with the Di Chennells Shield to the most efficient Treasure
most increased membership
Biggleswade and Leighton Buzzard joint winners of the club with the most increased membership.
best club chirman
North Beds and Simon Caves the most helpful club to the county throughout the year.
help county chairman
Charlotte Tomkins and Alice Redman winners of the Angie Sinnott award for the most helpful member to the county chairman.
attendance cup
Silsoe YFC winners of the attendance cup
The meeting was followed by a Cheese and Wine reception.
The date of the next Annual General Meeting is Wednesday 11th November 2015

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.